NATO of California/Nevada Awards $250,000 in Scholarships to Member Theaters’ Employees


The National Association of Theatre Owners of California/Nevada has awarded $250,000 in scholarships to 26 employees of the Association’s member theatres to be used for post-secondary education or vocational school; it was announced by president and CEO Milton Moritz.  With the awarding of this year’s scholarships, the Association will have presented a total of $2,670,000 to 409 recipients over the 21 years since the program began.

“We are very proud of the Association’s Scholarship Program, and the opportunities it has afforded so many deserving young men and women,” remarked Mr. Moritz.  “The value of continuing education cannot be overstated.  That we are able to lend encouragement and give a leg up to those willing to work hard and seeking to better themselves is extremely satisfying for all of our members.”

The scholarship program is one of the many benefits that are provided to employees of companies that are a member of NATO of California/Nevada and work in a California or Nevada theatre.   The merit based scholarship program is available to eligible theatre level employees, general managers and dependent children, winning selections is based on academic standing, a personal statement about themselves, their community service, goals and an essay.

The winners of this year’s scholarship competition are:

Ramin Afshari AMC Theatres
Demi Arnold ArcLight Cinemas
Michele Bagshaw Cinemark USA
Nicole Barbeau Krikorian Premiere Theatres
Cassidy Clark Regal Entertainment Group
Jack Gerstein Cinema West
Daisy Gutierrez AMC Theatres
Kyndra Holloway Galaxy Theatres
Ethan Jones Paradise Cinemas
Daryn Link IMAX Corporation
Cooper McAnelly Cinelux Theatres
Morgan Meyer Cinemark
Joanna Mrsich AMC Theatres
Jessenia Oertel Regal Entertainment Group
Deana Plascencia AMC Theatres
Byron Rackow ArcLight Cinemas
Felipe Ramirez Maya Cinemas
Leandre Ravatt Galaxy Theatres
Andrea Rivas Iraheta Cinemark
Stephanie Schlagel Regal Entertainment Group
Rebecca Shults Regal Entertainment Group
Suzanne Smith Reading International
Tamir Weinstein Cinelux Theatres
Kyara Williams Cinemark
Omar Yamak Regal Entertainnment Group
Jacob Young Krikorian Premiere Theatres

In addition to the Scholarship Program for the Association’s member theatres’ employees, $50,000 in grants are also awarded annually to film students at both the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television, and the USC School of Cinematic Arts.

News Stories